NSLI-Y SEMIFINALIST

Hello everyone!

It’s been a while since I last posted on my blog, but I have had nothing interesting enough to post on here.

Until today!

Today, December 1, 2016, was the day I saw a lonely little email sitting in my “Important Stuff” inbox with my semifinalist notification for NSLI-Y!

For those who do not know, NSLI-Y stands for National Security Language Initiative for Youth. A mouthful, right? It’s a study abroad opportunity for high school students aged 15-18 (even if you are a graduating senior, you just have to be in high school at the time you apply) to study in a country where its language is deemed “critical” to America’s future expansion worldwide. The languages available are as followed:

  1. Arabic
  2. Chinese (Mandarin)
  3. Hindi
  4. Korean
  5. Persian (Tajiki)
  6. Russian
  7. Turkish

Most of these languages offer both summer and yearlong programs while others only have one option.

I applied to study Korean for the summer as my first choice and Chinese for the summer as my second. I decided to leave my third choice blank for these are the top two languages that I really want to study in my life. My third is Japanese, but they unfortunately do not offer that language.

The application process was very, very long and tiring, but it was worth it! I had multiple people read over my essays including my friends, teachers (not only my English teacher), and former NSLI-Y participants. They have given me so much advice that my essays went through multiple complete revisions. Trust me, they have improved since I have first written them that it’s amazing.

My NUMBER ONE advice for future applicants is probably to have people read over your essays!

I will receive an email in the next couple of weeks about scheduling my interview. Oh boy, am I nervous. I am a really shy, introversive person, and I have difficulty expressing my thoughts clearly. I sure do hope that my interview goes well.

I will keep this blog updated on my NSLI-Y process. Maybe I can even get to be a finalist?

Until next time! Have a wonderful day!

~Alisa

Leave a Reply

