Week Recap + Winter Break

Hello!

This week has been a stressful week with finals and all, but at least I now have two weeks off! I have survived through seven 90-minute midterm exams, and I think I passed every single one of them – with a 100 on my Dual Enrollment Math, a 99 on my Criminal Justice, and a 92 on my ACT Prep (I don’t know the rest of the grades as of right now). I gotta say, my junior year of high school is going smoother than I thought it would.

This week, I have had two induction ceremonies, and I am feeling pretty proud. My dad even attended one of them which I am really, really happy about (my father cannot walk very well due to a past stroke, and it is difficult for him to attend my ceremonies and other events).

On Monday night, I had my National Honor Society (NHS) induction ceremony.

That night, I wore a maroon-ish colored dress with tights and my favorite black booties. I hadn’t tried on the dress before I purchased it, so I had no idea how much cleavage actually showed until I tried it on the night before the ceremony (I suggest to future inductees to always try on clothes before purchase). I was worried during the car ride that my dress was inappropriate for this type of ceremony, but when I arrived, I noticed that all of the other girls were wearing really short and tight dresses with a lot of cleavage showing. Compared to them, I was very modest.

Anyway, the ceremony was a beautiful candlelight service – all of the inductees walked into the auditorium holding lit candles, and the process went smoothly. It was very organized, and my dad and sister LOVED it.

The following night, I had an induction ceremony for National Technical Honor Society (NTHS). For those who do not know the difference between NTHS and NHS, NTHS is for students who are taking career technical classes, such as health sciences, business management, cosmetology, and so on. For me, I am in criminal justice.

The attire for this ceremony was specified – white top and black bottoms. I found a sophisticated style white blouse and some comfortable black dress pants. This is the first time wearing dress pants, and I’ll be honest: I felt like a mom. Maybe because my mother always wore dress pants? I don’t know.

This ceremony was very disorganized and disappointing. Don’t get me wrong – the candles were pretty, and the speakers and JROTC were good. However, the club’s main coordinator was late to the ceremony and the inductees did not know when to blow out our candles, when to sit down or stand up. We had little to no practice, and all of us were very confused. Regardless, I was honored to be part of such a program.

Now that the first semester is over, and I have two weeks off for winter/Christmas break, I can finally get some stuff done – clean my room, clean my car, make appointments, take my car to the dealer for service checkup, send Christmas gifts, and whatnot. This break might actually consist of errands and busywork and not just sleep (I do not exactly know how I feel about that).

Hopefully, everyone will have a fabulous and relaxing holiday break. Happy holidays everyone!

~Alisa

Leave a Reply

