NSLI-Y Interview Date

Hello! I hope everyone’s holiday break is going fine!

About one or two weeks ago, I posted that I received my semifinalist notification for NSLI-Y. Well, today I got my interview date and location.

I didn’t get a specific time or place – just the date and city. The interview is to take place on January 16 in Nashville, TN. I am so nervous yet excited!

In preparation, I have written down questions from various blogs and held a mock interview with a few of my friends. I feel prepared, but I also feel like I’m going to screw it up. Questions pop up in my head at the most inconvenient times. When I’m driving, I think about if the interviewer would like me or not. When I’m doing homework, I think about what would happen if I keep stuttering or excessively say “um.”

I have never done an interview before, so I am really nervous about this. What am I going to wear? How am I going to do my hair? Do I paint my nails? I have no idea on how to do this.

Hopefully, all goes well, and I’ll become a finalist! I really want this scholarship, so I’m going to do my very best in order to do so. My family is in full support of me going, so that’s really encouraging.

(Note to self: Do not stutter or say “Um.” Keep good posture. Smile and act like you REALLY, REALLY want the scholarship. Good luck!)

Happy Holidays everyone!

~Alisa

Leave a Reply

